After Night Seven, Danny Lasoski Leads The 2015 Cox Design Iowa Speed Week Points

Following the first two preliminary mains of the FVP Knoxville Nationals, presented by Casey’s General Stores, Danny Lasoski of Missouri leads the 2015 Cox Design & Metal Fabrication Iowa Speed Week point standings. Night number eight is Friday, August 14, with the twenty-second annual SPEED SPORT Knoxville World Challenge at the famed Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville. Although the top three point leaders (Danny Lasoski, Brian Brown, Sammy Swindell) have not qualified for tonight’s Knoxville World Challenge, fourth-placed Terry McCarl is set for the international race and he could take over the Iowa Speed Week point lead with a finish of fifteenth or better.

The unofficial top ten in the 2015 Cox Design Iowa Speed Week points after seven nights is as follows: 1., Danny Lasoski, 232 points; 2., Brian Brown, Sammy Swindell, 214 points (tied); 4., Terry McCarl 197 points; 5., Wayne Johnson, 166 points; 6., Bryan Clauson, 159 points; 7., Ian Madsen, 156 points; 8., Justin Henderson, 150 points; 9., Kerry Madsen, 144 points; 10., Dusty Zomer, 139 points.

This year, the Cox Design & Metal Fabrication Iowa Speed Week includes nine points-paying sprint car feature races in ten days, August 6-15, between the Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville and the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa. The top three places pay $2,500, $1,000, and $500, respectively, with the winner declared the Jesse Hockett “Mr. Sprint Car” titlist.

Past “Mr. Sprint Car” titlists include Ricky Logan (2002) of Arkansas, Shane Stewart (2003, ’04) of Oklahoma, Billy Alley (2005) of Nebraska, Jason Johnson (2006) of Louisiana, Wayne Johnson (2007, ‘08) of Oklahoma, Terry McCarl (2009) of Iowa, Sammy Swindell (2010, ‘11) of Tennessee, Kyle Larson (2012) of California, Kevin Swindell (2013) of Tennessee, and Brian Brown (2014) of Missouri.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.