Luke Bryan’s Niece Passes Away

Our thoughts go out to the family of LukeBryan and his wife Caroline, who are grieving the loss of their niece, Sadie Brett Boyer. Nash Country Weekly reports that the baby, affectionately known as Brett, was the daughter of Caroline’s brother Bo Boyer and his wife Ellen Wells Boyer. According to a post Ellen’s Facebook page, Brett suffered from a congenital heart defect and her condition had declined overnight on Sunday (2/19). On Tuesday (2/21), Luke posted a message on Twitter thanking everyone their support during this time. Bryan said, “We thank all of you for your prayers. Love y’all.”

Arrest Made in Foxhole Firearm Theft

On Thursday, February 16, 2017, at approximately 10:45 a.m., the Ottumwa Police Department responded to Foxhole Firearms, located at 2603 Roemer, Ottumwa, on a report that a theft of a firearm had just occurred.

At approximately 8:00 p.m., the Ottumwa Police Department located and arrested Ryan Sidney Comer, age 28, of Ottumwa, and recovered the stolen firearm.

Comer was charged with the following offenses:

  • Interference with Official Acts (Enhanced), a Class “D” Felony
  • Carrying Weapons, an Aggravated Misdemeanor
  • Unlawful Possession of Prescription Drugs, a Serious Misdemeanor
  • Violation of a No Contact Order (warrant), a Simple Misdemeanor

This investigation into the theft of the firearm is ongoing.




 Please note the following pursuant to recent Supreme Court rulings:   “A criminal charge is merely an accusation and a defendant is presumed innocent until proven guilty.”


Arrest Made In Cooper Street Shooting

On Friday, February 17, 2017, at approximately 5:20 p.m., the Ottumwa Police Department responded to 126 S. Cooper on a report that someone had been shot.  Police arrived and determined that Ryan Richard Reed, age 20, of Ottumwa, had sustained a single gunshot wound to his chest.  Reed was subsequently transported to the Ottumwa Regional Health Center for treatment to his injury.

Initial investigation into this incident resulted in the arrest of Travis Alan Skinner, age 33, of 126 S. Cooper, Ottumwa.  Skinner was arrested and charged with Possession of a Firearm by a Felon, a Class “D” Felony.  Skinner has bonded out of jail on this charge.

Officers from the Ottumwa Police Department executed a search warrant at Skinner’s residence at approximately 3:45 a.m., on February 18, 2017, in relation to this case.

The investigation into the circumstances surrounding Ryan Reed being shot remains under investigation.   There is no information that suggests that the public is in any danger as a result of this incident.

 Please note the following pursuant to recent Supreme Court rulings:   “A criminal charge is merely an accusation and a defendant is presumed innocent until proven guilty.”

Drake White Performs On A Flight To Nashville

Drake White surprised passengers onboard a flight from Dallas to Nashville on Monday morning (2/20) when he performed a special set at 35,000 feet in the air. Nash Country Daily reports that Drake’s set began with a performance of the song “Story” from his Spark album, before he segued into his current single, “Makin’ Me Look Good Again.” The performance can be seen here.


·       Drake told Nash Country Daily after his performance, “We’ve played so much and so many different places. Everything from Domino’s Pizza to Fenway Park. You just accept it. You just get on up and let your heart do the talking.”

White’s performance was in partnership with Southwest Airlines and Live in the Vineyard’s Live at 35 concert series.

Little Big Town Gets Set For Multiple TV Appearances

Little Big Town will make several national TV appearances to promote the release theirseventh studio album, The Breaker, this Friday (2/24). The group will kick off their string of media appearances with performances on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon on Thursday (2/23) and the Today Show on Friday (2/24), before returning to Nashville on album release day to kick off their Ryman Auditorium residency dates. The band will then make additional TV appearances on Ellen on February 28 and CBS’ The Talk on March 14.

Hunter Hayes Releases Interactive VR Video

Hunter Hayes has collaborated with YouTube to create a n interactive video for his single, “Yesterday’s Song.” Using YouTube’s new virtual reality app on Daydream View, Hayes invites fans into the recording studio as he builds the components of the song by playing every instrument. The state-of-the-art technology allows fans to immerse themselves in his performance by giving them control over every angle of a 360-degree view. The video can be seen here.

Vehicle Runs Into River After Driver Swerves To Avoid Deer

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Authorities say two people were rescued after the van they were in ran into the Des Moines River after swerving to avoid a deer.

Des Moines television station KCCI reports (http://bit.ly/2kDHWiB ) that the accident occurred around 4:30 a.m. Sunday on Interstate 80 on the north side of Des Moines. Iowa State Patrol Sgt. Nathan Ludwig says the driver of the eastbound van swerved to miss the deer, and the van ran into a ditch and then into the river.

One person escaped before rescuers arrived. Authorities say two other people in the van were rescued by boat and then taken to a hospital as a precaution.

The names of those involved haven’t been released.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.