Barnes and Banks Takes Features With Carter, VanDerWal and Griffiths Leading Points on Night #1

One of the most exciting events at the Southern Iowa Speedway is the Budweiser Great American Stock Car Shootout and this year marks the 20th Anniversary of the event. 91 cars signed in for Night one of the Shootout featuring 35 IMCA Stock Cars, 20 IMCA Hobby Stocks and 17 IMCA Northern SportMods.

Josh Barnes (IMCA Sport Compacts) and Brandon Banks (IMCA Modifieds) took feature wins on Wednesday Night. Stock Cars, Hobby Stocks and Sport Mods ran two sets of heat races with points earned during those events.

Cayden Carter (IMCA Stock Cars), Curtis VanDerWal (IMCA Northern SportMods) and Dustin Griffiths (IMCA Hobby Stocks) was the top point getters as all three won both of their heat races.

Josh Barnes started outside row two of the 12 lap IMCA Sport Compacts feature but by the end of lap one, it was Barnes grabbing the lead in his 1st ever visit to the monster half mile. Barnes pulled away meanwhile Trent Orwig, John Whalen, John Girdley and Shane Evans battled for position until the only caution came out on lap five for fluid on the front-stretch that came from Orwig’s car. Barnes again pulled away and went on to take the win over Evans, John Whalen, Bill Whalen and Girdley.

Brandon Banks started right where he left off two weeks ago in the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 16 lap feature. Banks led the entire distance to take the feature win meanwhile Cayden Carter worked his way too second but ran out of laps to chase down Banks. Andrew Schroeder was third, Tyler Groenendyk was fourth and Colt Mather was fifth.

In the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars Round one heats went to Derrick Agee, Damon Murty and Cayden Carter. Round two heats saw Mike Hughes, Carter and Cody Agee victorious. Top eight in Points was Carter, Murty, Hughes, Daniel Hilsabeck, Cody Agee, Nathan Wood, Derrick Agee and Shane Paris.

Colton Livezey and Curtis VanDerWal won round one heats in the KBOE Radio IMCA Northern SportMods meanwhile Logan Anderson and VanDerWal won round two heats. VanDerWal led the points followed by Anderson, Jason McDaniel, Brett Lowry, Livezey, Kyle Hill, Cory Van Zante and Charlie Weber.

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks saw Nick Ulin and Dustin Griffiths won round one heats. Griffiths and Danny Thrasher took round two heats. With two wins it was Griffiths leading the way in points followed by Thrasher, Ulin, Craig Brown, Adam Bonnett, Dale Porter, Brandon Potts and Jamie Songer.

Back at it for night two on Thursday Night as there will be Last Chance Qualifiers for Stock Cars, SportMods and Hobby Stocks. Everybody will get two chances to make the features. Top eight from Points on Wednesday will race in a dash. Iowa Sportsman Series will also be racing. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.