Brayton Carter Wins Dave Lowry Memorial At Osky

Oskaloosa, Iowa (June 22nd, 2016) Wednesday night was the annual Dave Lowry Memorial race sponsored by Monte Motor Parts and Nutz Graphics & Signs. Community 1st Credit Union also sponsored the night as they were handing out many items to drivers and fans in attendance. Even the youngters got to have some fun as they took a couple of laps around the monster half mile with Kids Rides.

Brayton Carter wins the IMCA SportMods for the first time at Osky in 2016 meanwhile Brother Cayden Carter wins again in the IMCA Stock Cars. Zack Vanderbeek (IMCA Modifieds), Dustin Griffiths (IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Cody Van Dusen (IMCA Sport Compacts) also take feature wins. The Mississippi Valley Vintage Racing Association was in attendance running an expedition heat race and feature for the Vintage Sprint Cars.

Brad Havel led the first laps of the ten lap IMCA Sport Compacts feature event but Cody VanDusen took the top spot away on lap two. VanDusen saw Brad Havel and Shane Evans on his back bumper after a caution on lap eight for Ryan Havel in turn one. VanDusen was not going to be denied the win as he held off the brigade the final two laps. Evans claimed second, Brad Havel was third, John Gill ran fourth and Ryan Havel was fifth

August Bach and Nick Ulin led the field to the green in the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature but by the end of lap one, it was Dustin Griffiths grabbing the top spot. Griffiths saw a familiar racer, Danny Thrasher on his back bumper most of the way but it was Griffiths holding off Thrasher to take his fifth win at Osky in 2016. Thrasher took second, Nick Ulin was third, Scott Shull was fourth and Steve Allen was fifth.

In the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature event, it was Zack Vanderbeek, driving one of Nathan Wood’s hot rods, grabbing the early lead. Vanderbeek led until Mike Hughes worked his way up to take the lead away on lap eight. Hughes led until lap 11 when the Orange Crush car of Cayden Carter took the lead away. Carter saw Damon Murty follow to second place and those two went into a very intense battle for the lead meanwhile Zanderbeek and Hughes exited pit side late in the race. Carter held off Murty to win his eighth feature win in a row. Derrick Agee, Louis Lynch and Donnie Pearson rounded out the top five.

Trent Brink led the first lap of the 16 lap KBOE Radio IMCA SportMods feature event but shortly after the caution came out when last week’s winner Austin Paul got caught up with an implement tire in turn two. Matthew Van Gelder took the top spot away on the restart but that was short lived as “Speedy Bray” Brayton Carter grabbed the top spot on lap three. Carter cruised on to take his first at Osky ahead of Brett Lowry, Van Gelder, Curtis VanDerWal and Eric Flander.

Final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 20 lap feature. Andrew Schroeder wrestled the lead away on lap one from Scott Dickey, Dickey lost second to Zack Vanderbeek on lap three and on lap five the caution came out for Jason Murray taking advesive action heading off turn three. Schroeder had Vanderbeek and Colt Mather on his back bumper on the restart, Mather grabbed secodn before taking the lead away on lap eight. Mather’s time out front was short lived as Vanderbeek took the lead away just before a caution came out on lap 11 for JD Gresham in turn two. Vanderbeek and the field saw the caution come out again on lap 13 for Todd Cooney coming to a stop in turn three. Vanderbeek was not going to be denied as he head on to take his first win at Osky. Cayden Carter got by Colt Mather on the final lap to take second. Dickey came home fourth and Schroeder was fifth.

Next Wednesday Night will be Kelli Steil State Farm Insurance Night at the Southern Iowa Speedway. All five IMCA Classes are on the card with Hot Laps at7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

The following week will be the 21st Annual IMCA Budweiser Stock Car Shootout on Tuesday and Wednesday July 5th and 6th. On Tuesday, Qualifying night for Stock Cars, SportMods, Hobby Stocks and Sport Compacts and on Wednesday night last chance qualifying and main events for Stock Cars, SportMods, Hobby Stocks and Sport Compacts. Modifieds will run a complete show on July 6th. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm both nights of the Shootout.

For more information check out or Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night Facebook.

Southern Iowa Speedway
Dave Lowry Memorial sponsored by Monte Motor Parts / Nutz Graphics & Signs / Community 1st Credit Union
June 22nd, 2016

IMCA Modifieds

Feature – 1. 33Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 2. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 3. 8 Colt Mather (Keswick); 4. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood); 5. 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 6. 49J Jason Murray (Hartford); 7. 10 Todd Cooney (Des Moines); 8. 71 Dennis LaVeine (West Burlington); 9. 95J Jason Hall (Grinnell); 10. 92 JD Gresham (Winterset)

Heat – 1. Vanderbeek; 2. Dickey; 3.Carter; 4. Schroeder; 5. Mather; 6. Murray; 7. Cooney; 8. LaVeine; 9. Hall; 10. Gresham

IMCA Stock Cars

Feature – 1. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 2. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 3. 14 Derrick Agee (Moberly, MO); 4. 71 Louis Lynch (Glenwood, MO); 5. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 6. 79S Jason See (Albia); 7. 9E Austin Evens (Independence); 8. 54 Mike Brown (New Sharon); 9. 17 Brock Welch (Oskaloosa); 10. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 11. 52Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 12. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 13. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney)

Heat 1 – 1. Vanderbeek; 2. Hughes; 3. Carter; 4. Lynch; 5. See; 6. Evens; 7. Brown
Heat 2 – 1. Murty; 2. Reitzler; 3. Wood; 4. Agee; 5. Pearson; 6. Welch

IMCA SportMods

Feature – 1. 01 Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 2. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 3. 16 Mattehw Van Gelder (Pella); 4. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 5. 12 Eric Flander (Pella); 6. 29 Colton Livezey (New Sharon); 7. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 8. 34Z Cory Van Zante (Sully); 9. A5 Austin Paul (Monroe); 10. 20 Danny Brau (Brooklyn); 11. 84B Trent Brink (Bussey); 12. 26 Scott Brau (Brooklyn); 13. 5T Tyler Inman (Altoona); 14. 22B Aaron Bridgeman (Bloomfield); 15. 55R Steven Berry (Ottumwa)

Heat 1 – 1. Brink; 2. VanDerWal; 3. Van Zante; 4. Livezey; 5. McDaniel; 6. Inman; 7. Berry; DNS Paul
Heat 2 – 1. Van Gelder; 2. Flander; 3.Carter; 4. Lowry; 5. Danny Brau; 6. Scott Brau; 7. Bridgeman

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature – 1. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Hedrick); 2. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 3. 21 Nick Ulin (Agency); 4. 57 Scott Shull (Agency); 5. 3S Steve Allen (Oskaloosa); 6. 19X August Bach (Newton); 7. 4 Bradley Graham (Brooklyn); 8. 14 Christian Huffman (New Sharon); 9. 7K Kelsie Spilman (Hedrick)

Heat – 1. Ulin; 2. Griffiths; 3. Bach; 4. Thrasher; 5. Shull; 6. Graham; 7. Allen; 8. Spilman; 9. Huffman

IMCA Sport Compacts

Feature – 1. 53 Cody VanDusen (Atalissa); 2. 92E Shane Evans (Iowa City); 3. 11H Brad Havel (Iowa City); 4. 02 John Gill (Marshalltown); 5. 0 Ryan Havel (Iowa City); 6. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 7. 00W Bill Whalen Jr (Riverside); 8. 23B Jason Breuklander (Oskaloosa); 9. 86R James Roose (Grandview); 10. 99B Kyle Boyd (Ottumwa)

Heat – 1. VanDusen; 2. Brad Havel; 3. Ryan Havel; 4. Evans; 5. Gill; 6. Bill Whalen; 7. John Whalen; 8. Roose; 9. Breuklander; 10. Boyd

Story provided by Jeremy Fox


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.