Cup Series Win List Holding At 11

With Matt Kenseth’s victory Sunday at Pocono, the list of Sprint Cup Series race winners this season holds steady at eleven with five races remaining in the regular season. Kyle Busch has matched Jimmie Johnson with a series-leading four wins but is not yet eligible for the post-season Chase since he is outside the top thirty in points after missing the first eleven races while recovering from injuries suffered at Daytona in February.

Post-season berths will go to the sixteen top eligible drivers based on race wins. If there are fewer than sixteen race winners in that group, then the field will be filled based on regular-season point standings. Assuming Busch is able to climb into the top thirty over the next five races, the five highest-placed non-winning drivers in the standings today are Jamie McMurray, Jeff Gordon, Paul Menard, Ryan Newman and Clint Bowyer – who leads Kasey Kahne by fifteen points for what would be the final berth on The Chase Grid.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.