E.B.F.H.S. Jazz Band Wins Districts

On Saturday, March 5th, the Eddyville Blakesburg Fremont High School Jazz Band placed 1st in class 2A at the South East Iowa Bandmasters Association District Jazz Contest in Iowa City. The 1st and 2nd place bands from each class qualify for the Iowa Jazz Championships, which is held at the Events Center in Des Moines on April 5th. This is the 30th year in a row that the E.B.F.H.S. Jazz Band has qualified for the Jazz Championships. Eddyville Blakesburg Fremont placed 1st ahead of Mid-Prairie, West Branch, West Burlington, Louisa – Muscatine, and Mediapolis in class 2A competition.

Several students received an Outstanding Soloist Award for their solo performances. Outstanding Soloist Awards went to: Delanee Van Zante; alto sax, Cyrus Rogers; tenor sax, Claire Jager, Alto Sax, Mika Farnum; Bari Sax, Andrew Hart; trombone, Sara Loving; trumpet, Maggie Voyles; piano, Carson Burrell; vibes, Dillon Howard; drums, and Kendal Durst; Bass. The EBF Sax Section received the Outstanding Sax Section Award for their great performance. Delanee Van Zante was selected as the Outstanding Soloist of the Day for her solo performances. The band is directed by Joe Overton.
The EBFHS Jazz Band will perform in concert with the junior high jazz band on Tuesday March 15th at the EBFHS Cafetorium at 7:00 P.M. The band will also appear at the Night of Jazz at the Daily Auditorium in Oskaloosa on April 1st with the bands from Oskaloosa and North Mahaska.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.