High School Wrestling Results 1-16-16

Oskaloosa took just 5 wrestlers to compete in the Bob Sharp Wrestling Invitational Saturday at Ankeny Centennial High School and came away with a 10th place team finish.  The Indians did place two wrestlers in the finals. Drew Sams went 2-1 winning by fall and technical fall before losing a 4-1 decision to Jace Williams of Ankeny Centennial in the finals to take home 2nd place at 138.  Sams is now 22-5 this season.   Callan Tomlin had a great day going 3-0 to claim the 220 pound championship.  Tomlin, the 6th ranked wrestler at 220 in Class 3A advanced to the finals with 5-3 and 6-4 decision wins then beat 4th ranked Christian Heimer of Ankeny Centennial 3-1 in overtime to earn the championship and up his season record to an impressive 25-2.  Ankeny Centennial, Norwalk and Mason City finished 1-2-3 in the team standings.  In the JV tournament Jackson Kargol was champion at 120 and Tyson Breuklander finished runner up at 220.  Oskaloosa returns to the mats Thursday when they travel to Knoxville.  You can hear that dual live on 99.5 FM /740AM KMZN as well as radiokmzn.com starting around 6:15pm Thursday night.

Albia competed in the 13 team Ed Hadenfeldt Wrestling Invitational and came away with a 4th place finish Saturday behind Lisbon, Washington and Solon and crowned two individual champions.  Freshman 106 pounder Aden Reeves went 3-0 with a fall and two technical falls to claim another championship.  Reeves the Class 2A top ranked wrestler is now 26-0 on the season.  Another top ranked Blue Demon wrestler, Carter Isley at Heavyweight claimed the championship cruising through his bracket including just a :10 fall in the finals.  Isley, who won the 2A 220 pound State Championship last year improved to 24-0.  Bryce Leshen #1 ranked in Class 2A at 145 also advanced to the finals with a fall and decision win but fell 14-6 to the Class 1A top ranked wrestler and 3 time defending State Champion Carter Happel from Lisbon.  152 pounder Blake Lawless lost in overtime in the semifinals but came back with two major decision wins to claim third place.  Ben Mason also finished 3rd at 182, Luke Sinclair claimed 4th place at 170, while Jer McAninch finished 5th at 195 and Jake West was 6th at 220.

Mid Prairie won the WACO Warrior Invitational helped by 4 individual champions Duncan McCain, Cameron Tolander, Visouth Peterschmidt and Levi Duwa. Davis County was 4th, Tri County/Montezuma 5th and North Mahaska 6th, Pekin finished 8th while English Valleys was 9th and Moravia 10th.  At 106 pounds, Allan Parlier of Moravia was 3rd, North Mahaska’s Tyler Strasser finished 2nd at 120 while Pekin’s Clayton McKim was 4th and Davan Gorring of Davis County finished 6th. Nicholas Martin of Moravia was champion at 126, Clayton Greiner of Pekin finished 3rd, Jarrett Stodghill of North Mahaska was 4th and Travis Lewis of Tri County/Montezuma was 5th. At 132 pounds, Kale Latcham of Tri County/Montezuma finished 2nd, Draven Dekraai of Davis County 3rd and Lathe Crochet of Pekin claimed 5th.   Walker Henderson of Davis County was runner up at 138, Mason Garber of TC/M was 3rd, Shaun Clark of North Mahaska 4th, and Drake Harbison of Pekin finished 5th.   Davis County’s Kale Baird won the championship at 145 beating Dylan Comstock of North Mahaska in the finals.  Zach Axmear from English Valleys took the title at 152, Keaton Baayen of Pekin finished 3rd, Jacob Martin of Moravia 4th and Taylor Staton of TC/M was 6th.  At 160. Kaden Baker of Pekin finished 3rd while Luke Groves of North Mahaska was 4th.  Dylan Henderson of Davis County finished 2nd at 170, Clay Harper of TC/M was 4th, and  Reece Strasser of North Mahaska 5th.  At 195, Dustin Stoner of TC/M finished 3rd, and Colton Lanphier for North Mahaska was 5th.  Hunter Foubert of TC/M finished 6th at 220 and at Heavyweight, Ben Kincart of Davis County finished runner up, and Tyler Thompson of TC/M took home 4th.

At the Wayne Duals, Eddyville Blakesburg Fremont went 3-1 defeating Bedford-Lenox 46-24, Lafayette, MO 66-6, Wayne 59-18 but lost to Lynnville Sully 42-25.  Lynnville Sully also beat Lafayette 57-12, Wayne 49-19 and suffered their only loss to SE Warren 46-30.  Twin Cedars also competed going 1-3 with a win over Lafayette 25-24 but falling to Bedford/Lenox 60-9, SE Warren 66-6, and Van Buren 51-12.

Ottumwa finished 2nd behind Creston Orient Macksburg at the Centerville Invite and crowned three champions.  Knoxville finished 6th, Pella 9th, Fairfield 11th and Centerville 14th.  For Ottumwa, Alec Clark at 120, Jonathan Morales at 126, and Isaiah Cox at 182 were all individual champions.   Wyatt Schlotter came up just short losing 5-3 in the finals to claim 2nd at 152. Nathaniel Shoemaker was also 2nd at 106,   Collin McConnell was 4th at 138, and Justus Skinner 4th at 145.  For Knoxville  Joe Hollinrake of Knoxville was champion at 132, Travis Poffenbarger at 220 and Brock Caviness at heavyweight were both runners up while Keegan Poole of Pella won the heavyweight crown beating Caviness 3-2.

PCM crowned several champions at the ADM Invitational.   Lucas Roland won the 138 pound title, Xavier Miller at 145,  and Wes Cummings at 152 were also Champions for the Mustangs while Jarron Trausch finished 2nd at 170 and Jakob Fenton was 4th at 106.

Story provided by Jamie Brockman


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.