Hughes, Brown, Slaughter, Vanderbeek, VanDerWal and Tish Take Final Checkers at Osky

Saturday Night put an end to the 2015 season at the Southern Iowa Speedway with Night two of the 29th Annual Musco Lighting Fall Challenge. It was another complete show for all classes on the very brisk and fall like night at the monster half mile.

Gene Tish (Iowa Sportsman Series), Curtis VanDerWal (SportMods), Zack Vanderbeek (Stock Cars), Mike Hughes (Hobby Stocks), Shaun Slaughter (Sport Compacts) and Kyle Brown (Modifieds) took feature wins on Night Two.

Just like Friday Night the first official feature was the 30 lap Iowa Sportsman Series event. Matt Deaton again grabbed the top spot but Gene Tish worked his way up to second and began to chase down Deaton. Tish took the lead away from Deaton on lap 14 as the lap traffic began to get heavy. Tish went on to take the win ahead of Deaton, Darin Dezwarte, Friday Night’s winner Travis Dawson and Derrick Seddon.

First feature after a pair of b-mains was the SportMods 18 lap feature event with Colton Livezey and Louis Lynch leading the field to the green. Lynch wrestled the lead meanwhile Friday Night’s runner up Logan Anderson, who chose to start fourth row, worked his way up to take the second spot away on lap two. Just after the completion of lap four, the caution come out for multiple cr incident in turns three and four. Anderson took the lead away from Lynch on the restart but Friday Night’s winner Curtis VanDerWal, also chose to start fourth row, worked his way up and it was VanDerWal taking the lead away on lap eight. VanDerWal went on to take the win over Anderson, Livezey, Jason Hall and Brandon Dale.

Zack Vanderbeek finished second Friday Night and opted to requalify through heat races instead of taking the option of starting fourth row in the 22 lap Stock Cars feature. That decision was right because Vanderbeek redrew four and took full advantage as he jumped out to the lead. The first race caution came out for Mike Brown in turn four but Vanderbeek was not fazed. Vanderbeek saw fellow Orange Crush team mate Cayden Carter worked his way to second and Friday Night’s winner Mike Hughes to third. Vanderbeek held off every challenge from Carter to take the win. Carter finished second, Hughes was third, Elijah Zevenbergen was fourth and Johnny Spaw moved up seven spots to finish fifth.

Adam Gates and Josh Barnes led the field to the green in the 12 lap Sport Compacts feature and it was Adam Gates wrestling the lead away. Gates and Shaun Slaughter battled it out for the lead with Gates holding on until lap 11. Slaughter outduled Gates the last two laps to take the win. Ryan Walker finished third, Barnes end home in fourth and Brandon Lambert was fifth.

Richie Gustin grabbed the lead early in the 22 lap Modifieds feature event with brother Jimmy Gustin running second. Jimmy Gustin began to fall back before pulling in but just after the completion of lap three, the caution came out for Jerry Pilcher, when he lost a left front wheel on the front stretch. Kyle Brown started 7th and worked his way to second on lap four and began to battle with Richie Gustin for the lead. Tyler Vandekamp brought out caution number two when he hit a tractor tire in turn one. Brown was finally able to take the lead away from Gustin on lap 14. Brown went on to take the win meanwhile Cayden Carter took second away from Gustin. Andrew Schroeder moved up six spots to finish fourth. Tyler Groenendyk rounded out the top five with a fifth place finish.

Final feature of the night was the 16 lap Hobby Stocks feature and before a single lap was completed the caution came out when Jeff Anderson and Jacob Keiser got together on the back stretch. Steve Allen led the first lap and Casey Greubel took the lead away on lap two. Mike Hughes worked his way through the field from 7th to take the top spot on lap three just before the caution came out. Hughes was not going to let the debris caution on lap six or the caution on lap 14 that forced green-white-checkered finish. Hughes managed to match Friday’s result by taking the win on Night two. Dustin Griffiths, Brandon Cox, Shannon Anderson and Dale Porter rounded out the top five.

That puts a wrap on the 2015 season at the Southern Iowa Speedway. Keep your eyes open during the off season for the 2016 schedule.

For more information, Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night on facebook, check out or call Mike Van Genderen at 641-521-0330.

By Jeremy Fox


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.