Indian Swimmers wrap up the 2015-2016 season

Oskaloosa Indian Boys Swim Team wrapped up their 2015-16 season.  The team this year moved up 9 spots on the power rankings in the state of Iowa and look to continue the climb next year.   The team had a lot of fun this year and were able to push themselves through some very long and grueling practices to come out better swimmers at the end of the season.

Dawson Sarver won the Most Valuable Swimmer award as he joined the swim team this year after taking a few years off and was a great addition to the program and was the only senior this year.  He was only a second away from being the first Indian swimmer to qualify for state in the 100 Breaststroke and has 3 of the Oskaloosa Records.

The Iron Man Awards went to Dawson Sarver, Jack Miller and Jarod Miller for not missing any practices this season and for making it to all of the meets during the year.

During the last 3 years of having an Oskaloosa swim team, records have been kept and this year’s team broke every one of them during the season.  Dawson Sarver ended the season holding the Indian record in the 50 Free with a time of 23.51, The 100 Free with a time of 53.34, and the 100 Breast in a time of 1:03.27.  Jack Miller now holds the records in the 100 Backstroke in a time of 1:02.41, and the 200 IM in a time of 2:19.46.  Jarod Miller holds the record in the 200 Free with a time of 2:08.05, and the 500 Free in a time of 5:48.19.  Finishing out the individual records is Carter Huyser who holds the record in the 100 Fly in a time of 1:01.36.  The Medley Relay (all 4 strokes) record and the 200 Free Relay records are held by Jack Miller, Dawson Sarver, Carter Huyser, and Nik Dykstra with a time of 1:49.88 in the Medley and a time of 1:39.85 in the Free.  The 400 Free Relay record is held is held by group of Carter Huyser, Jack Miller, Jarod Miller, and Dawson Sarver in a time of 3:47.12.

All 11 swim team members Ean Beenken, Colton Berg, Sam Carmichael, Nik Dykstra, John Hammes, Carter Huyser, Jack Miller, Jarod Miller, Dawson Sarver, Jacob Spears and Connor Swim made it into the 50 Free Sub-30 Second Club this year and Nik, Jack and Dawson advanced into the Free Sub-25 second club.  Carter Huyser and Connor Swim made it into the Sub-30 Second club in the 50 Fly.  Jack made it into the Backstroke Sub-30 second club and Dawson Sarver made it into the Breaststroke sub 30 second club.  In the Free 60 second club Ean Beenken, Nik Dykstra, Carter Huyser, Jack Miller, Jarod Miller, Dawson Sarver and Connor Swim all received their awards with Carter and Dawson also advancing into the Sub-55 second club.  The 2 managers Darian Jaquez and Ellie Snyder also received t-shirts this year as they did an awesome job of keeping all of the stats for the year and timing the swimmers during practice.

With only one senior leaving and several more incoming freshmen joining the team next year the Indians are looking forward to continue moving the bar higher.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.