Snow Ordinances Declared Around Region

As a result of impending severe weather in the region, KBOE is keeping track of a list of towns and cities in the area which have declared a snow emergency. For a full listing of school delays, cancellations, and closings, click here.

  • The City of Oskaloosa has declared a snow emergency. All vehicles must be removed from City streets to allow City crews to plow. Vehicles left on the street could be towed at the owner’s expense. (Effective 12 PM on Monday, Feb. 5 until noon on Tuesday, Feb. 6.)
  • The City of New Sharon has declared a snow emergency. All vehicles must be removed from City streets until they are cleared.
  • A snow ordinance for the City of Pella will go into effect starting Feb. 5, 2018 at 6:00 PM and will remain in effect until further notice. The snow ordinance has now been lifted, Feb. 6, 2018, at 10:55 AM.
  • The City of Ottumwa’s Snow Emergency Ordinance will be placed into effect at 7 PM on Monday, February 5, 2018. The City of Ottumwa Snow Emergency will be lifted, effective at 12:00 PM, Tuesday, February 6, 2018. On-street parking in the City will return to the regular, posted regulations at that time.   The City appreciates the public’s cooperation and patience with the ongoing snow/slush removal operation and regrets any inconvenience caused by the process.  
  • The Knoxville Snow Ordinance goes into effect at 4 PM on Monday February 5. Parking is prohibited on ALL City streets while in effect. It will remain in effect until the storm ends AND the streets are plowed curb to curb. Violators may be cited and towed.
  • The City of Sigourney has declared a Snow Emergency effective 7 PM on Monday, Feb. 5. The ordinance will stay in effect until all streets have been cleared.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.