One Streak Continues And Another One Ends On Pro-Line Building Night

Oskaloosa, Iowa (June 8th, 2016)Wednesday Night the 56 cars checked in to tame the monster half mile on Pro-Line Building Night and the fans were treated with other entertaiment as drivers took part in wheel barrow races on the front stretch for extra prizes from Pro-Line Building Company of New Sharon.

Cayden Carter continues his streak in the IMCA Stock Cars meanwhile Danny Thrasher (IMCA Hobby Stocks) gets win number one of weekly action. Other feature winners was Curtis VanDerWal (IMCA SportMods), Ryan Havel (IMCA Sport Compacts) and Colt Mather (IMCA Modifieds)

First feature of the night was the ten lap IMCA Sport Compacts feature and it would be John Whalen grabbing the top spot on lap one and Whalen led until lap six when tenth place starter Ryan Havel took the lead away. Havel went on to take the win but held off a late race challenge from Shane Evans. John Gill grabbed third away from Whalen and Jason Breuklander finished fifth.

Bobby Greene grabbed the lead on lap one of the Pespi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature event but on lap two, Greene came to a stop in turn three forcing the caution come out just after Jamie Songer was scored as the leader. Songer and the field saw the caution come out again on lap three for Kelsie Spilman in turn four. Songer had Bill Bonnett and August Bach right behind him on the restart and it was Bonnett taking the top spot on lap six. Bonnett continued to lead until the white flag came out when Danny Thrasher made the pass and went on to take the win. Dustin Griffiths managed to edge out Bonnett to the line for second. Nick Ulin and Travis Bunnell rounded out top five.

Up next was the 18 lap Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars feature event and it was Nathan Wood leading lap one but Louis Lynch wrestled it away on lap two. Lynch and Wood battled for the lead and it was Wood grabbing the lead back on lap four. Wood appeared to be heading on to the win when Cayden Carter chased him down and took the lead away from Wood. Wood tried to make several challenges to get by Carter but Carter was not to be denied win number six in a row keeping him perfect on the regular season. Wood, Lynch, Todd Reitzler and Donnie Pearson finished second through fifth respectively

Scott Brau led the opening lap of the 16 lap KBOE Radio IMCA SportMods feature before Matthew VanGelder took the lead away on lap two. VanGelder and Logan Anderson battled for the top spot but by lap 12, Curtis VanDerWal worked his way up from tenth to lead. VanDerWal was only slowed by a lap car on the last lap as he went on to take win number fourth at Osky. VanGelder had his best finish of the season. Eric Flander came home third, Austin Paul was fourth and Carter VanDenBerg was fifth.

Final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 18 lap feature event. Cayden Carter took the lead early but the only caution came out on lap six when Andrew Schroeder hit a tractor tire out on to the racing surface.  Carter continued to lead despite having Colt Mather and Zack Vanderbeek in tow, Mather would take the lead away on lap ten.  Mather would go on to take the win ahead of Cayden Carter, Jesse Dennis, Vanderbeek and Tyler Groenendyk.

Next Wedneday Nights Races are sponsored by Community First Bank will feature all five IMCA Classes with Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

For more information check out or Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night Facebook.

Southern Iowa Speedway
Pro-Line Buildings Night
June 8th, 2016

IMCA Modifieds

Feature – 1. 8 Colt Mather (Keswick); 2. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 3. 70 Jesse Dennis (Prescott); 4. 33Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 5. 9 Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 6. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood); 7. 162 Greg Cox (Kellogg); 8. 22 Brandon Banks (Washington); 9. 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick)

Heat – 1. Dickey; 2. Dennis; 3. Carter; 4. Mather; 5. Groenendyk; 6. Vanderbeek; 7. Schroeder; 8. Cox; 9. Banks

IMCA Stock Cars

Feature – 1. 10CC Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 2. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 3. 71 Louis Lynch (Glenwood, MO); 4. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 5. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 6. 00 Andy Altenburg (Truman, MN); 7. 79S Jason See (Albia); 8. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 9. 17 Brock Welch (Oskaloosa); 10. 52Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon)

Heat – 1. Hughes; 2. Carter; 3. Lynch; 4. Wood; 5. Reitzler; 6. See; 7. Altenburg; 8. Pearson; 9. Welch; 10. Vanderbeek

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Feature – 1. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 2. 16 Matthew VanGelder (Pella); 3. 12 Eric Flander (Pella); 4. A5 Austin Paul (Monroe); 5. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 6. 9A Logan Anderson (Eddyville); 7. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 8. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 9. 84B Trent Brink (Bussey); 10. 26 Scott Brau (Brooklyn); 11. 55R Steven Berry (Ottumwa); 12. 29 Colton Livezey (New Sharon); 13. 20 Danny Brau (Brooklyn)

Heat 1
– 1. Anderson; 2. VanDerWal; 3. McDaniel; 4. VanGelder; 5. Paul; 6. Brink; 7. Danny Brau
Heat 2 – 1. Livezey; 2. VanDenBerg; 3. Flander; 4. Scott Brau; 5. Lowry; 6. Berry

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature – 1. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 2. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Hedrick); 3. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 4. 21 Nick Ulin (Agency); 5. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 6. 3S Steve Allen (Oskaloosa); 7. 96R Jamie Songer (Ankeny); 8. 19X August Bach (Newton); 9. 14 Christian Huffman (New Sharon); 10. 9 Jared Stephens (Bussey); 11. 12 Mike Kincaid (Cincinnati); 12. 32T Bobby Greene (Tracy); 13. 7K Kelsie Spilman (Hedrick)

Heat 1 – 1. Kincaid; 2. Songer; 3. Allen; 4. Thrasher; 5. Griffiths; 6. Bunnell; 7. Spilman
Heat 2 – 1. Bach; 2. Bonnett; 3. Ulin; 4. Greene; 5. Huffman; 6. Stephens

IMCA Sport Compacts

Feature – 1. 0 Ryan Havel (Iowa City); 2. 92E Shane Evans (Iowa City); 3. 02 John Gill (Marshalltown); 4. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 5. 23B Jason Breuklander (Oskaloosa); 6. 00W Bill Whalen Jr (Riverside); 7. 86R James Roose (Grandview); 8. 99B Kyle Boyd (Ottumwa); 9. 99 Lincoln Schrock (Wellman); 10. 11H Brad Havel (Iowa City); 11. 41 Nathan Moody (Beacon)

Heat 1 – 1. Schrock; 2. Gill; 3. Ryan Havel; 4. John Whalen; 5. Bill Whalen; 6. Moody

Heat 2 – 1. Breuklander; 2. Evans; 3. Brad Havel; 4. Roose; 5. Boyd

Story provided by by Jeremy Fox


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.