Osky Swimmers Defeat Williamsburg

Indian Boys Swim team had a big win Thursday night as they traveled to Williamsburg for their first dual meet of the year. They came away with an 83-49 win as they continued to improve their times. With the extra pool time that the YMCA has been able to give the swim team and with all of the hard work that they have been putting in their morning and afternoon practices this team has now broke all 11 event records that were set in the previous 3 years during this meet and continue to push the times down every week.

The meet started with the 200 Medley Relay(Back, Breast, Fly, Free) as the team of Jack Miller, Dawson Sarver, Carter Huyser, and Nik Dykstra took first place in a time of 1:54.70 and the team of Sam Carmichael, Connor Swim, Jarod Miller, and Ean Beenken took second place honors in a time of 2:15.16.

The 200 Free event was next as Osky sent Connor Swim to the blocks and he swam a 2:28.03 to take first place in the event. The 200 IM was next and Jack Miller went out and swam a 2:19.50 to take first place and continued to lower the Indians school record time.

The 50 Free was next and Osky sent 7 swimmers into this event with Dawson Sarver earning first place with a time of 23.83 and reset the Osky Swimming Record. Behind Dawson was Carter Huyser in second place with a 25.39, Nik Dykstra with a third place finish in 25.63, Ean Beenken with a 28.45, Colton Berg 28.77, Sam Carmichael 28.98, and Jacob Spears with a 29.40.

After the first 10 minute break Jarod Miller was sent to the blocks in the 100 Fly event and swam a 1:05.26 for a first place finish In the 100 Free Nik Dykstra edged out Connor Swim with a 1:00.34 for first place and Connor finished with a 1:00.63 for second place while Colton Berg finished 4th with a 1:05.73 and Jacob Spears swam a 1:11.35.

Carter Huyser was selected on this night to swim the 500 Free as he continued to lower the Indian record in this event with a time of 5:58.49 to take first place. Following this event was the 200 Free Relay as Connor Swim, Ean Beenken, Colton Berg, and Nik Dykstra earned the first place finish in a time of 1:50.04.

After a 10 minute break the teams came out to swim the 100 Back event as Jack Miller took first place honors with a time of 1:05.18 and Sam Carmichael took 3 place honors with a time of 1:26.49.

In the final individual event of the night, the 100 Breast, Oskaloosa sent Dawson Sarver and Jarod Miller to the blocks as they came away with first and second place finishes in times of 1:05.69 and 1:15.54. The last relay of the night was the 400 Free as Osky earned the first place finish here with a time of 3:53.99 with Carter Huyser, Jack Miller, Jarod Miller and Dawson Sarver swimming this event.

Story provided by Todd Miller


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.