December 27th: On This Day


On this day in 2006, Alan Jackson’s gospel CD, Precious Memories, was named the most successful Christian record of 2006. The album was the first gospel album of Jackson’s career, and his thirteenth album total.

The album didn’t produce any singles but still was Certified Platinum by the RIAA. A second volume, Precious Memories Volume II, was released in 2013.

More Legendary Performers Added To CMA Awards

The star power at the upcoming 50th Annual CMA Awards continues to grow with the addition of more legendary acts to the lineup.  Joining the star-studded lineup are 2016 Country Music Hall of Fame inductees Charlie Daniels and Randy Travis; former Entertainer of the Year winners Ricky Skaggs and Roy Clark and former CMA Awards host Clint Black. The new wave of performers also includes Jason Aldean, Chris Stapleton, Thomas Rhett, Jennifer Nettles, Martina McBride and Dwight Yoakam, as well as multi-format performers Elle King and Pentatonix.


·       These artists join previously announced performers Alabama, Kelsea Ballerini, Dierks Bentley, Brooks & Dunn, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Florida Georgia Line, Vince Gill, Alan Jackson, Miranda Lambert, Little Big Town, Tim McGraw, Maren Morris, Kacey Musgraves, Brad Paisley, Charley Pride, Reba, George Strait, Carrie Underwood, Keith Urban, and Garth Brooks with Trisha Yearwood.

·       The 50th Annual CMA Awards will air live from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on November 2 at 8:00-PM ET on ABC.

October 25th: On This Day

On this day in 2000, Vince Gill and Dolly Parton hosted a TV taping for the Grand Ole Opry’s 75th: A Celebration, at the Opry House. The special debuted on CBS on Thursday, November 23rd, later that year. The show also included performances by current Opry Members including Garth Brooks, Reba McEntire, Alan Jackson, and George Jones.

Chris Young Reveals Christmas Album Track Listing

Chris Young has revealed the track listing for his new holiday album, It Must Be Christmas, confirming the all-star collaborations he hinted at last week. The album features a special guest appearance by Alan Jackson on “There’s A New Kid In Town,” a song that originally appeared on Jackson’s 1993 Christmas album, Honky Tonk Christmas, as a duet with Keith Whitley.  The record also features Chris teaming up with Brad Paisley for a rendition of “The First Noel,” with soul trio Boyz II Men lending their voices to another Christmas classic: “Silent Night.”


·       In addition, Young co-wrote two original songs for the album — “Under The Weather” and the title track “It Must Be Christmas.”

·       It Must Be Christmas will be released on October 14.

It Must Be Christmas track listing:


1. “The Christmas Song”

2. “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)”

3. “Under the Weather”

4. “There’s a New Kid in Town” (feat. Alan Jackson)

5. “Holly Jolly Christmas”

6. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”

7. “The First Noel” (feat. Brad Paisley)

8. “I’ll Be Home for Christmas”

9. “Silent Night” (feat. Boyz II Men)

10. “It Must Be Christmas”


August 29th: On This Day

On this day in 2001, Alan Jackson’s When Somebody Loves You was Certified Platinum. The album was the ninth studio album released by Jackson, and produced four singles “www.memory”, “When Somebody Loves You”, “It’s Alright to Be a Redneck”, and his number one hit “Where I Come From”.

July 28th: On This Day

On this day in 1971, Charley Pride recorded his #1 single “Kiss An Angel Good Mornin”. The song was released as the first single from his twelfth studio album,  Charley Pride Sings Heart Songs. 

The song was later Certified Gold, and would later be covered by the likes of George Jones, Alan Jackson, and Conway Twitty respectively.

July 18th: On This Day

On this day in 1991, Alan Jackson‘s album Don’t Rock the Jukebox was certified Gold. The album was Jackson’s second studio album and produced five singles. Four of those singles,  “Don’t Rock the Jukebox”, “Someday”, “Dallas”, and “Love’s Got a Hold on You”, all reached number-one on the charts.

The fifth single from the album, “Midnight in Montgomery”, was an ode to Hank Williams, and reached #3 on the charts.

Don’t Rock the Jukebox peaked at #17 on the U.S. Billboard 200, and #2 on the Top Country Albums. As of 1995, the album is certified 4 x Platinum by the RIAA.

July 6th: On This Day

On this day in 1991, Alan Jackson enjoyed his second #1 hit with “Don’t Rock the Jukebox”. “Don’t Rock the Jukebox” was the lead single from the album of the same name. The song received an ASCAP award for Country Song of the Year in 1992 and would be covered by Alvin and the Chipmunks later that year.


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.