USMTS Texas Tripleheader Kicks Off Busy May

GREENVILLE, Texas (May 3) — The United States Modified Touring Series returns to the Lone Star State this week for a tripleheader of $3,000-to-win contests in the Production Jars Southern Region presented by Day Motor Sports.

On Thursday, May 5, the series invades the Superbowl Speedway in Greenville, Texas, for the 2nd Annual North Texas Nationals.

The last trip to the semi-banked quarter-mile dirt oval on June 27, 2014, saw Stormy Scott take the feature win, following in the footsteps of his twin brother, Johnny Scott, who topped the series debut three months earlier on March 20, 2014.

Spectator tickets are $20, kids ages 6-12 are $5 and children 5 and under get in for free. Pit passes are $35. The pit gate opens at 3 p.m., grandstands open at 5, hot laps begin at 7 and racing starts at 7:30.

Also running will be Limited Mods and Factory Stocks each battling for $500 to win.

The Superbowl Speedway is located 5.0 miles south of Greenville on SR 34, then west on FM 1903. For more information, call (903) 883-2504 or check out online.

Friday, May 6, finds the fire-breathing USMTS fighter pilots at the Lubbock Speedway in Lubbock, Texas, for the second time in series history. The first occasion came more than six years ago when Jason Hughes took the win during his run toward the USMTS national championship.

Spectator tickets are $20, kids ages 6-12 are $5 and children 5 and under get in for free. Pit passes are $35. The pit gate opens at 4 p.m., grandstands open at 5, hot laps begin at 7:30 and racing starts at 8.

Joining the USMTS on the card will be Southern Sports Mods, Stock Cars and Street Stocks.

The Lubbock Speedway is a high-banked 1/3-mile dirt oval located south of Lubbock on I-27 to 114th St., then 1.5 miles east. For more information, call (806) 782-5160 or check them out online at

The swing wraps up Saturday, May 7, with the 7th Annual Amarillo Ambush at the Route 66 Motor Speedway in Amarillo, Texas, where past USMTS events have played out in front of standing-room-only crowds.

Hometown favorite Rodney Sanders of nearby Happy, Texas, captures the inaugural event in 2010 and added a second trophy to his case in last year’s stop. Other winners here include Kelly Shryock, Jason Hughes, Randy Timms and Stormy Scott who won back-to-back races in 2013-2014.

The Route 66 Motor Speedway is a popular racing destination for drivers and fans in the Texas panhandle. The racing surface at Bill Worthen’s speedplant is a generous 75 feet wide in the turns with 20 degrees of banking, and 65 feet wide down the straight-aways with 5 degrees of banking. The facility has a seating for 4,000 race fans plus handicapped parking, stadium lighting, full concessions and several luxurious V.I.P. booths. For the race teams, the pits have concrete pads available with lighting and water.

The pit gate opens at 4 p.m. and spectator gates open at 6 p.m. with hot laps at 6:30 and racing at 7. General admission is $15. Pit passes are $30.

Street Stocks, Limited Late Models and Sport Mods will also compete.

The Route 66 Motor Speedway is a 3/8-mile high-banked clay oval located 1.5 miles south of I-40 at exit 75 on Lakeside Dr. in Amarillo. For more information, call the track office at (806) 383-0375 or (806) 335-3478 for race day updates. The track’s website is

Points standings as of May 3, 2016

1. 12 Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla. … 1080 (1 win)
2. 19r Ryan Gustin, Marshalltown, Iowa … 1039 (4 wins)
3. 97 Cade Dillard, Robeline, La. … 996
4. 33z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa … 974 (2 wins)
5. 99 Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, Iowa … 823
6. 10 Austin Arneson, Fargo, N.D. … 811
7. 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas … 765 (3 wins)
8. 12d Scott Drake, Joplin, Mo. … 742
9. 2 Casey Arneson, Fargo, N.D. … 737
10. 91 Joe Duvall, Claremore, Okla. … 736
11. 4m Bobby Malchus, Red Oak, Texas … 720
12. 2s Stormy Scott, Arroyo Hondo, N.M. … 686 (1 win)
13. 71 Philip Houston, Odessa, Texas … 680
14. 4w Tyler Wolff, Fayetteville, Ark. … 665
15. 1st Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M. … 663
16. 6 Brock Bauman, Eureka, Ill. … 628
17. 4r Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla. … 609
18. 8 Steve Miller, Rosanky, Texas … 602
19. 23k Ben Kates, Tonganoxie, Kan. … 567
20. 89c Steve Whiteaker Jr., Corpus Christi, Texas … 562
Other winners:
J17 Jake Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M. (1 win)

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at and Instagram at or subscribe to our YouTube channel at


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.